Different people have various ways of expressing their emotions. In a relationship, there are various ways that people want to feel loved. Knowing your partner’s love language is crucial in a relationship because of this. Let’s first discuss what love language actually means.

Meaning of Love Language

Love language is a simple concept that describes how couples express love towards each other in the best way it can be received. However, as simple as it sounds, the absence of an understanding of your or your partner’s love language could lead to the crashing of the relationship. If you do not understand what love languages are and the various types of love languages, it will be difficult to recognize your love language and communicate it effectively to your partner and vice-versa. Consequently, both parties will only end up loving each other in the way they are capable of or the way they would rather be loved.

Types of Love Languages

There are 5 known different love languages.

  1. Words of Affirmation
  2. Acts of Service
  3. Gifts
  4. Quality time
  5. Physical Touch

You are probably thinking “what is my love language?” Let’s dive into each of these love languages and the signs that are unique to each of them.

Words of Affirmation are basically when you enjoy hearing supportive and encouraging words being said to you. This means you want your love and presence acknowledged verbally in every way. This makes you feel more understood and welcomed in the relationship.

Acts of service from your partners when they put in effort in carrying out life-easing tasks for you. If you like when your partner goes out of their way to make your life easier and makes you happy, then this is probably your love language. Helping you can be as little as with the laundry and taking out the trash. People with this love language believe more in actions than words. Unlike those who want to be verbally acknowledged, this category thrives more when they are actively shown love through actions.

The giving and receiving of gifts are extremely clear. Receiving gifts is the love language for those who feel that gifts have emotional meaning. They are more interested in the thoughts behind your gift to them than the actual worth, which they do not add any significance to. This demonstrates to them that you care about even their smallest desires and keep them in mind. You must be thoughtful and aware of the type of presents you are choosing if you want to win over this type of person. What matters is how much the gift will mean to the recipient and what kind of value it will provide, not how pricey it is. You can ask yourself these questions both before and after purchasing your partner a gift:

  • What have they been lacking recently?
  • What would make them happy at the moment?
  • Will they like this?
  • What will this mean to them?
  • What does this gift mean? Does it add value to them?
  • What emotions will this gift evoke?

Quality time involves giving your partner undivided, uninterrupted and undistracted attention. The people who fall in this category of love languages want to actively hang around and hang out with their partners. They prioritize the presence of their partners. Holding meaningful conversations and participating in various recreational activities with their partners give them great joy. Time is so precious to them and they want to make sure they spend the time creating memories with their loved ones.

People whose preferred method of communication is touch value physical expressions of affection. Physical touch is simply your partner’s preferred method of communication if giving them a hug, touching them, or cuddling up to them makes them happy. They desire physical touches as well as sexual intimacy because they want to sense your presence.

What love languages to look for in your relationships?

It’s crucial to understand each other’s love language(s) in a relationship. It facilitates easier love. You become familiar with your partner’s likes and dislikes. Additionally, it will lessen disputes and facilitate their resolution. To win them over or get on their good side, you can always rely on “speaking” their love language. What are the telltale signs that will help you identify which of the different love languages your spouse speaks, and how do you discover what that language is?

  1. Ask your Partner

The best way to find out what your partner’s love language is is to do this. You can both talk more about loving one other properly if you have a discussion about their likes and preferences for affection. However, it’s likely that your spouse is unaware of their own personal love language. If that’s the case, you might want to think about the next point.

  1. Pay attention to what makes them happy.

Different love languages have distinguishing signs, therefore learning these signs and being able to tell them apart will help you determine which love language your spouse uses.

What is my love language?

These are the signs of each of the five different love languages:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Like being praised and acknowledged for their effort no matter how little
  • Like good remarks made on the little details about you
  • Enjoy thoughtful comments whenever they make little changes about themselves like changing their nail color or perfume.
  • Like expressive thanks like “Thank you”
  • Acts of Service
  • Like when their partners take on some of their responsibilities and make things easy for them.
  • They want to be helped with the little things like their laundry.
  • They believe more in actions than words. They like when their partners back up their words with actions and follow through on them.
  • Gifts
  • They want to be taken care of and spoiled with thoughtful gifts like going home with flowers or a shopping bag after a date.
  • They do not just like gifts for their monetary value. They want meaningful gifts with values that cater to their emotions.
  • Gifts make them feel important to their partners.
  • Quality time
  • Uninterrupted and intimate time with their partners is precious to them.
  • They crave their partner’s undivided attention always.
  • They always want to create special and shared memories.
  • Time is precious to them and they want to spend it creating amazing memories with their partners.
  • Physical touch
  • They look forward to their partners touching They like hugs, cuddles, and kisses.
  • Physical affection validates their partners’ emotions and love for them. It makes them feel more grounded and appreciated in the relationship.
  • They like public displays of affection, it makes them feel desired.
  • They also enjoy being sexually.


These expressions of love are essentially a structure for your partnership. They provide a solid foundation from which to love your partner. Additionally, it is possible to speak more than one love language. The ways in which individuals express and receive love are evolving along with the times and people themselves. Therefore, you should use these love languages as a starting point in your relationship to improve communication and understanding.